Mattias Nyberg

(Scania and Royal Institute of Tech., Sweden)

Bio: Mattias Nyberg is an adjunct (part-time) professor at Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) in the department of Mechatronics. His main affiliation is Scania CV AB, a leading global heavy-truck manufacturer. He received a PhD in Electrical Engineering from Linköping University in 1999 specializing in vehicular systems. After dissertation he has worked mainly in industry; first for Daimler in Stuttgart, Germany, and then at Scania with a current focus on functional safety and product line engineering. In parallel with his industrial career, he is very active in academic research. He has supervised six PhD students. He is also an author of more than 100 scientific publications, and has received the SAE Vincent Bendix award.

Julia Rubin

(University of British Columbia, Canada)


Bio: Julia Rubin is an Assistant Professor at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in the University of British Columbia. She received her PhD in Computer Science from the University of Toronto, Canada and worked as a postdoctoral researcher at MIT, USA. She spent almost 10 years in industry, working for IBM Research, where she was a research staff member and a research group manager. Julia’s research interests are in software engineering, security, and reliability for complex software systems. Her recent work in these areas won ACM Distinguished Paper Awards at ISSTA’18 and ASE’15, Best Paper Awards at SPLC’13 and CSMR’13, and was runner-up for Facebook’s Internet Defense Prize at the USENIX Security Symposium’14 and the EASST Award at ETAPS’16. She serves on program committees of several major conferences in Software Engineering, co-chaired the program committees of SPLC’14, ECMFA’14, FASE’17, and will co-chair the program committee of ASE in 2022.

Thomas Thüm

(Ulm University, Germany)

Bio: Since January 2020, Thomas Thüm is a professor for the Construction and Analysis of Secure Software Systems at the University of Ulm. From 2015 to 2019, he was a PostDoc at the TU Braunschweig in Ina Schaefer’s institute. He received his Ph.D. in 2015 from the University of Magdeburg under the supervision of Gunter Saake. His Ph.D. thesis received the Dissertation Award 2015 of the University of Magdeburg and his master’s thesis the Software Engineering Award 2011 of the Ernst Denert Foundation. He coauthored more than 100 peer-reviewed publications and is known for his contributions to the well-known open-source project FeatureIDE.